All social media profiles will periodically become disconnected. During the time that your access token is invalid, you may have problems posting the planned content and moderating the comments, and also you may have experienced data loss in the reports πŸ₯²

We understand that the process can be frustrating. However, it is normal behavior that aims to keep your accounts safe and secure 😎

When that is the case, you can see the expired tokens in 2 different ways:

  1. In the Control panel on the homepage, you'll see the β€œExpired tokens” part indicating that one or several of your social media profiles require updating of access tokens.

  2. Or you can check your inbox. We are sending alert emails titled β€œAccess Token Expired: Brand Name” indicating your social media profiles require updating of access tokens.

There are several reasons why your access token may expire:

  • When the person who connected your pages to Sociality.io update their credentials, social media platforms revoke their access tokens to let them review their connected apps.

  • The person who connected social media accounts to the Sociality.io platform may no longer be an administrator on these accounts. Thus, your profile doesn't have access to manage the page.

  • Social media platforms periodically deactivate access tokens due to routine security checks. It is done to understand whether you haven't forgotten applications that you opened access to.

Why do access tokens expire? Social media platforms and their policies can be the reason πŸ™‚

Note that regardless of the reasons and social media network, whenever your access token expires, you will need to reconnect your account to the Sociality.io platform. How? Here is a step-by-step guide for you to uncover πŸ‘‰ How can I refresh my access tokens?

Facebook and Instagram

Your Instagram and Facebook accounts connected to Sociality.io, in general, require more of your attention. Facebook states that an access token usually has a lifetime of about 60 days. (The lifetime of an access token, however, is stated in a very ambiguous form, and unfortunately, there is no exact time to define.)

In addition to the general reasons stated above, here are some additional reasons why the access token may expire.

  • You are publishing identical posts to several accounts at exactly the same time.

  • Facebook detects many different IP addresses logging into your account. The more people have your email and password information, the more skeptical they are of the Facebook system.

  • You are often logging in and out of several different accounts.

You can find more information here πŸ‘‰ https://developers.facebook.com/docs/facebook-login/access-tokens/

Twitter

In comparison to Facebook and Instagram access token policies, Twitter doesn't require frequent reconnections due to security policies. Thus, Twitter access tokens don't have a specific lifespan or expiry dates.

  • Your Twitter account is most probably disconnected due to either duplicating content publishing or spam-like behaviors.

LinkedIn

LinkedIn access token requires reconnecting exactly every 60 days.

"LinkedIn offers programmatic refresh tokens that are valid for a fixed length of time. By default, access tokens are valid for 60 days, and programmatic refresh tokens are valid for a year. The member must reauthorize your application when refresh tokens expire."

On top of regular, planned access token expiration, here are additional reasons why you are required to reconnect your LinkedIn profile:

  • You are publishing identical posts to several LinkedIn accounts at the same time. (The social media platforms classify this behavior as spammy.)

  • You no longer have Admin access to the LinkedIn page.

You can find more information here πŸ‘‰ https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/linkedin/shared/authentication/programmatic-refresh-tokens?context=linkedin/consumer/context

YouTube

Your YouTube accounts connected to Sociality.io can also require you to reconnect your profile because of the expired token. A refresh token might stop working for one of these reasons:

  • The user has revoked your app's access.

  • The refresh token has not been used for six months.

  • The user changed passwords, and the refresh token contains Gmail scopes.

  • The user account has exceeded the maximum number of granted (live) refresh tokens.

  • The user belongs to a Google Cloud Platform organization that has session control policies in effect.

You can find more information here πŸ‘‰ https://developers.google.com/identity/protocols/oauth2#expiration

Did this answer your question?